We Were All Born This Way

Image 

Lady Gaga recently started the Born This Way Foundation, taking its name from her most recent album.

The Lady told Time Magazine that it is “a youth empowerment foundation.” Rather than “anti-bullying” (“Bullies were born this way too,” she said).

Among her goals in this endeavor is helping youth recognize and foster the kind and loving parts of themselves. According to Gaga, this can require an enormous amount of bravery, because nice is not “cool.”

She said: “In fact, my courage and my bravery at a young age was the thing I was bullied for, a kind of ‘Who do you think you are?’ This is not coming from a place of ‘I’m a popular kid. Let’s all be brave.’”

When asked: “If you think people should be themselves, why do you have the elaborate costumes that seem so much like a disguise?”

Gaga replied: “Well, this is myself. How else would I maintain it every day? It may be perceived that my creativity is something I have to work on, when that’s probably the most natural part of me. I think we should try not to by cynical about the individuality of others. Perhaps instead of a disguise, people should see it as an expression.”

Leave a Reply

