Pete Seeger & Bruce Springsteen at the Inaugural Concert at the Lincoln Memorial

On Sunday, Pete Seeger, Bruce Springsteen, Pete’s son, and some back up singers, led the crowd (including President Obama) in a rendition of “This Land Is Your Land.”

Tommy Sevenson of the Tuscaloosa News wrote:

“But sly old Pete, who actually hoboed with Woody during the Depression and Dust Bowl, had the crowd sing the song as it was actually written, as not only a celebration of this great land, but as a demand for workers’ and people’s rights. That is, he restored the verses that have been censored from the song over the years to make it less political:”

There was a big high wall there that tried to stop me;
Sign was painted, it said private property;
But on the back side it didn’t say nothing;
That side was made for you and me.

In the shadow of the steeple I saw my people,
By the relief office I seen my people;
As they stood there hungry, I stood there asking
Is this land made for you and me?

Nobody living can ever stop me,
As I go walking that freedom highway;
Nobody living can ever make me turn back
This land was made for you and me.

“The ‘relief office,’ of course, refers to the ad hoc soup bowls and such set up during the Depression before the New Deal began to get the social security net we have all depended upon since the 1930s in place.”

3 Responses to Pete Seeger & Bruce Springsteen at the Inaugural Concert at the Lincoln Memorial

  1. Ansam says:

    Did you watch the inauguration?

  2. Outlaw Pete – Working On A Dream…

    …The newest Bruce Springsteen album, ‘Working On A Dream’, is introduced January 27th. I have had the opportunity of enjoying it but I had to listen to it on headphones……

Leave a Reply

